10th Annual Scientific Conference and All Fellows Congress

The 10th Annual Scientific Conference and All Fellows Congress tagged “Unity Conference 2015” held from Tuesday August 11 to Saturday August 15, 2015 at the NAF Conference Centre Abuja. The Theme of the conference was “National Health Act; Translating the Law into Quality and Accessible Health care”. The Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Health, Mr. Linus Awute,mni chaired the Opening Ceremony which featured a keynote address and a lecture.
The keynote address was delivered by Senator Dr. Arthur Okowa, the Executive Governor of Delta State who described the theme of the conference as part of the College’s unwavering quest to bolster healthcare practice in Nigeria. The lecture tagged the “1st Ogunlesi Lecture” was instituted in honour of the first College President, Dr. T. O. Ogunlesi. The lecture titled “Balancing the Analgesia in Anaesthesia: Opioid Availability in Nigeria” was delivered by Professor Simbo Amanor-Boadu, FMCA.
The 5day event featured Pre-Conference Workshops by Faculties of Anaesthesia, Internal Medicine, Radiology and Oto-Rhino-Laryngology; a welcome cocktail party hosted by the National Hospital, Abuja; scientific sessions; product presentation on E-Medicine; Workshop on Manuscript Writing and Review mounted by Faculty of Surgery and a conference dinner on Thursday August 13, 2015.
The All Fellows Congress took place on Friday August 14, 2015. During the congress, the Past Presidents’ Forum Prize for the Resident Doctor with the Best Presentation during the scientific sessions was awarded to Dr. Umerah Chinwe, a Senior Resident in Faculty of Radiology. This was followed by Faculty Board Elections in nine Faculties.
Over 470 delegates including five Past Presidents of the College and four Chief Medical Directors took part in the event. It was adjudged as the most attended since the commencement of the programme ten years ago.