Dr. Ebeigbe

Professor Peter Ndidi Ebeigbe, MBBS (Benin), FMAS, DMAS (India), MPH (Liverpool), MD, FWACSFMCOG (Nig), FICS 

Professor Peter Ndidi Ebeigbe was born on May 19th, 1970, in Agbor, Ika South Local Government Area of Delta State. He attended Nosieri Primary School, Agbor Obi, and Igumbor Otiku Primary School, Agbor from 1975 to 1981 for his primary education. Later, he graduated as the best student with seven distinctions from Ika Grammar School, Agbor in 1986.

Professor Ebeigbe was admitted, in the first batch, to study Medicine and Surgery at the University of Benin in November 1987. He graduated with an MBBS degree in March 1994 and completed his housemanship at the General Hospital, Bida, Niger State. He then underwent the mandatory National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) program at the General Hospital Erin-Ile between 1995 and 1996. After completing NYSC, he was employed by the Kwara State Ministry of Health as a Medical Officer until June 1998. At this point, he proceeded to residency training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.

He completed his residency training in Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the University of Benin Teaching Hospital Benin, between 1998 and 2003. He passed the Part 2 exams of the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria (NPMCN) in May 2003 and the West African College of Surgeons (WACS) in October 2003. Professor Ebeigbe has also pursued further academic training, including obtaining a Diploma in Minimal Access Surgery and a Certificate in Assisted Reproductive Technology in 2013. He earned a Master’s degree in Public Health from the University of Liverpool in 2015, with a sub-specialization in International Public Health. Finally, he completed the postgraduate Doctor of Medicine (DM) degree in Obstetrics and Gynaecology from the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria, Lagos, in 2020.

Professor Peter Ndidi Ebeigbe was appointed as lecturer 1 in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at Delta State University Abraka in November 2003. He rose through the ranks and became a Professor of Obstetrics and Gynaecology on October 1st, 2012. Throughout his career, he served in various roles, including Head of Department, Director of Medical Education in the College of Health Sciences, and member of various University Committees such as the Strategic Planning Committee, Research and Publications Committee, and University Health Committee, among others. He was also Chairman of the University Innovations, Research, and Implementation Committee. He served two terms as Provost of the College of Health Sciences from 2014 to 2018. As Provost, he was a member of the Delta State University Teaching Hospital Management Board in Oghara and served as Chair of the Clinical Services and Training Committee of the Board. He performed his duties meritoriously.

Professor Ebeigbe served at the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria (NPMCN) as a member of the Faculty Board of Obstetrics and Gynaecology from 2010 to 2021. During this time, he was elected as Faculty Secretary for two terms and Faculty Chairman for two terms, both times unopposed. He also served on several committees, including the Computerization Committee, Docimology Committee, MD Degree Implementation Committee, Ceremonies Committee, and Bye-Laws Committee. In addition, he was the pioneer Chairman of the International Collaboration and Accreditation Committee of the College from 2020 to 2021 and chaired the College Five Year Strategic Plan Committee. Professor Ebeigbe was elected College Vice President in December 2021 and served diligently in this role from January 1st, 2022, to December 31st, 2023. Finally, he was elected as the College President by the Governing Board of the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria in December 2023.

He has published more than seventy scientific papers in both local and international journals. He has also edited five textbooks for undergraduates and postgraduates in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, which are widely used in Nigeria and overseas. Professor Ebeigbe has supervised numerous dissertations for the Part 2 examinations of the NPMCN and WACS. He has also been appointed as an external examiner to several medical schools, including the University of Calabar, Niger Delta University, Igbinedion University, Babcock University, and the University of Uyo, among others. He has assessed over twenty candidates for the position of associate professor and professor for many universities, including Ahmadu Bello University, University of Calabar, University of Maiduguri, Benue State University, University of Uyo, Imo State University, Owerri, Ambrose Alli University and Babcock University. Additionally, he has been an examiner for both the Part I and 2 examinations of the NPMCN and WACS for many years. Professor Ebeigbe won the College-wide Prize as the Best Dissertation Supervisor in the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria for 2022. He has also been a member of more than fifty accreditation panels, more than half of which he chaired, at undergraduate and postgraduate levels to accredit medical education programmes in universities and teaching hospitals.

He is a member of several professional bodies including the Nigerian Medical Association, the Association of Gynaecologic Endoscopy Surgeons, The Association of Fetomaternal Medicine of Nigeria, the World Association of Laparoscopic Surgeons, the International College of Surgeons and the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics.

He is married to Professor Jennifer Aleye Ebeigbe, and they are blessed with three children.