NPMCN Visits Minister of Health

A delegation led by the College President, Prof. Ademola Olaitan, FMCDS, PNMC paid a courtesy call on the Minister of Heatlh, Prof. Isaac Adewole on Tuesday, May 17, 2016 at the Minister’s office, Federal Ministry of Health, Abuja.

Prof. Olaitan while congratulating the Minister reaffirmed the College’s belief in his competence and commitment in ensuring quality healthcare delivery in the country.

Speaking on the challenges facing the College, he noted that amongst others, under-funding by the Federal Government has been a clog in the wheel of the College’s development. According to him, little attention is accorded to the College in terms of funding and allocation. This, he said has imparted negatively on the full realization of the College’s mandate and goals.

On the College’s specific request, the College President re-echoed the need for the establishment of a Clinical Skills and Simulation Laboratory that will also serve as the Performance and Cognition Skills Examination (PASCE) Centre. The Facility, according to him, will be equipped with mannequins that could be used to teach different clinical skills as well as examine those skills. He sought the assistance of the Honourable Minister to use his good office to persuade the Presidency to empower TETFUND to build and equip the Clinical Skills and Simulation Laboratory for the College.

Speaking further, the College President expressed worries about the Categorization of the College in the Federal Ministry of Health under Category D which is for Regulatory Bodies and Professional Schools. He pleaded with the minister to consider the re-categorisation of the College so that the College can get more funds to pursue its objectives.

In his response, the Honourable Minister of Health, Prof. Isaac Adewole thanked the College delegation for taking time out to visit him in his Office. He assured the delegation that as a proud Fellow of the College, he will do what is doable to assist the institution  in its drive to surmount its challenges.

The members of the College delegation were the College President, Prof. Ademola Olaitan, College Vice-President Prof. Opubo da Lilly-Tariah and College Registrar, Prof Oluwole Atoyebi. Others are Dr. Salami Sule, Deputy Registrar (Academic), Dr. Oyenike Ekekezie, Deputy Registrar (Senate and Governing Board), Mr Adekunle Lawson, Director (Administration) and Mrs Victoria Agbaje, Chief Confidential Secretary to the College President.